Université de Bordeaux
LabEx BRAINCluster of Excellence
Cluster of excellence


The form of governance within BRAIN reflects the overall objective of the partners involved, i.e. to collaborate constructively with a view to promoting rapid growth over the next three years and in keeping with a longer term strategy.

Board of trustees

The Board of Trustees comes under the aegis of the Investissements d’avenir steering committee of the University of Bordeaux, which is responsible for supervising all the Investissements d’avenir projects selected in Bordeaux and for approving BRAIN strategy for growth. The Board of Trustees is thus in charge of assessing the administrative, budgetary and financial actions proposed by BRAIN and that will be specified in the consortium agreement. The board comprises all parties (research bodies, industrial partners, regional government, etc.) whose interests are represented within BRAIN. The board will meet at least once annually in order to assess the progress of BRAIN towards achieving the agreed objectives and review the terms of the consortium agreement.

Steering Committee

The steering committee is the upper board and its members represent the research laboratories comprising BRAIN. The committee meets on a monthly basis to discuss the growth strategy for BRAIN and to implement the general guidelines approved by the board of trustees. It makes decisions on the basis of joint initiatives put forward by BRAIN’s partners, with particular focus on those initiatives to be funded from its own resources. It monitors the progress of scientific transfer and training projects. It decides upon the addition/removal of teams participating in BRAIN upon strict evaluation and recommendation by the ESAB.

The steering committee is composed of representatives of the five partners according to the following:

  • Daniel Choquet, Director
  • Marc Landry, Training Director
  • Erwan Bézard, Transfer Research Director
  • Pierre Philip, Clinical Research Director
  • Christophe Mulle, Bordeaux Neurocampus Director
  • Stéphane Oliet,
  • Véronique Deroche,
  • Giovanni Marsicano,
  • Nathalie Sans
  • Bruno Bontempi
  • Jean-René Cazalets
  • Sophie Layé

In case of the Bordeaux neurocampus director belongs to one of the partners, therefore, the steering committee is only composed by 11 seats.

The members and the director are nominated for a 4-year period

Board of Directors

For the daily running of BRAIN, the director will appoint an executive body called the Board of Directors composed of three adjunct directors in charge of technology transfer, training and clinical relations. In addition, to facilitate smooth communication between Neurocampus and BRAIN, the Neurocampus project coordinator - currently Pier Vincenzo Piazza - will be a member of the board of directors.

External Scientific Advisory Board (ESAB)

The members of the External Scientific Advisory Board (ESAB) will all be highly qualified international academics. They will meet annually upon convocation by the director of BRAIN to discuss the overall policy of BRAIN for the coming years and to assess the annual scientific program with regard to long-term strategic goals. The council will also play an advisory role regarding the scientific policy and activities of BRAIN, selection of projects in response to annual internal calls of BRAIN as well as recommendations on entry and exit of teams from BRAIN. Recommendations of the ESAB will be transmitted to the steering committee.