Our site uses cookies necessary for its proper functioning. To improve your experience, other cookies may be used: you can choose to disable them. This can be changed at any time via the Cookies link at the bottom of the page.

Université de Bordeaux
LabEx BRAINBordeaux Region Aquitaine Initiative for Neurosciences
Cluster of excellence

Steering committee

The steering committee is the upper board and its members represent the research laboratories comprising BRAIN. The committee meets on a monthly basis to discuss the growth strategy for BRAIN and to implement the general guidelines approved by the board of trustees. It makes decisions on the basis of joint initiatives put forward by BRAIN’s partners, with particular focus on those initiatives to be funded from its own resources. It monitors the progress of scientific transfer and training projects. It decides upon the addition/removal of teams participating in BRAIN upon strict evaluation and recommendation by the ESAB.


The steering committee is composed of representatives of the five partners according to the following:

  • Daniel Choquet, Director
  • Pierre Philip, Clinical Research Director
  • Marc Landry, Training Director
  • Erwan Bézard, Transfer Research Director
  • Christophe Mulle, Bordeaux Neurocampus Director
  • Bruno Bontempi
  • Jean-René Cazalets
  • Véronique Deroche
  • Sophie Layé
  • Giovanni Marsicano
  • Stéphane Oliet
  • Nathalie Sans

In case of the Bordeaux Neurocampus director belongs to one of the partners, therefore, the steering committee is only composed by 11 seats.

The members and the director are nominated for a 4-year period.